The 4C's

Purchasing a Godavari diamond is your ethical choice for both sustainability and exceptional quality.

GIA created the first, and now globally accepted standard for describing diamonds: Color, Clarity, Cut and Carat Weight. Today, the 4Cs of Diamond Quality is the global standard for assessing the quality of any diamond.

The Four Cs


The cut grade measures how the individual proportions combine to effect the beauty of a diamond. Cut quality is the factor that fuels a diamond’s fire, sparkle and brilliance. The allure and beauty of a particular diamond depends more on cut quality than anything else.

Diamonds with an Excellent or Very Good cut grade will allow a maximum amount of light to be returned to the observer and therefore have the highest degree of brightness, fire (rainbow colours) and scintillation (sparkle).

The Four Cs


The international unit of weight used for measuring diamonds and gemstones, 1 carat is equal to 200 milligrams, or 0.2 grams. A specific measurement of a diamond’s weight, carat weight alone may not accurately represent a diamond’s visual size.

The Four Cs


Most diamonds are colourless to near colourless. The highest colour grade that exists is D or colourless and extends to Z being light yellow.

Diamonds in the D to F colour grades are considered colourless. Diamonds in the G to J colour grades are considered near colourless.

Diamonds are valued on how closely they approach colourlessness – the less colour, the higher their value. (The exception to this is a fancy colour diamond, such as pinks and blues, which lie outside this colour range.)

The Four Cs


All diamonds contain imperfections. Because diamonds are formed deep within the earth, under extreme heat and pressure, they often contain unique birthmarks, either internal (inclusions) or external (blemishes). Clarity refers to the absence of these inclusions and blemishes. Diamonds without these marks are rare, and rarity affects a diamond’s value. Using the GIA International Diamond Grading System™, diamonds are assigned a clarity grade that ranges from flawless (FL) to diamonds with obvious inclusions (I3).